Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Dominic Fike drops new album, Sunburn

Dominic Fike drops new album, Sunburn

How do you feel about this story?


Dominic Fike has finally released his sophomore album Sunburn via Columbia Records/Sony Music Entertainment. The album finds him returning to his native Florida, examining the culture and environments in which he was raised that are unique to the Sunshine State. The album’s release includes the standout track, “Mona Lisa,” which Dom created with longtime collaborator Kenny Beats and was also featured in the box office-topping film Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse.

Also featured on Sunburn are “Frisky” and “Think Fast,” two tracks that have been teased over the past few months and have already become fan favorites online. The latter of those songs features contributions by Weezer frontman Rivers Cuomo on guitar and backing vocals — a full circle moment for Dom given Weezer’s influence on him and his history of covering the band’s “Say It Ain’t So” as part of a medley with his own song “Westcoast Collective” on his first North American tour.

Next week Dom will launch his North American Don’t Stare At The Sun tour. The tour marks his first live performance since his breakout set at this year’s Coachella, where “his talent jumped out every time he took the mic” according to Rolling Stone. Over the course of the tour, Dom will perform at iconic venues like New York’s Prospect Park, Los Angeles’ Greek Theater, and Chicago’s Huntington Bank Pavilion, making this his largest tour to date.

The album is available digitally as well as on standard CD and vinyl formats (the former with a 12-panel folded insert poster and the latter with a 12-page insert booklet), an exclusive CD edition with a 60-page photo book on glossy paper stock, as well as deluxe and color vinyl editions (the former of which is on black vinyl with a 24-page insert booklet and the latter of which comes on Florida orange vinyl with a 12-page insert booklet). Digital and CD formats are available for purchase now and vinyl is available for pre-order.


Dominic Fike


July 7, 2023

Columbia Records

  1. How Much Is Weed?
  2. Ant Pile
  3. Think Fast
  4. Sick
  5. 7 Hours
  6. Dancing In The Courthouse
  7. Mona Lisa
  8. Bodies
  9. Sunburn
  10. Pasture Child
  11. 4×4
  12. Frisky
  13. Mama’s Boy
  14. Dark
  15. What Kinda Woman


Connect with Dominic Fike:

Instagram | Twitter

 (Download hi-res assets HERE)

Dominic Fike’s new album, Sunburn, is on all digital music platforms worldwide via Columbia Records and Sony Music Entertainment.


About Dominic Fike:

He was first discovered by the world through a collection of demos on Soundcloud recorded at home while on house arrest, Dominic Fike’s rise since has been the kind only seen once or twice per generation – praised by everyone from The Fader to The New Yorker as “the future of pop music” for his fusion of hip-hop and sun-damaged rock that spawned a #1 on Billboard’s Alternative Songs chart and subsequent collaborations with the likes of Paul McCartney, Justin Bieber, Halsey, Omar Apollo, Kenny Beats and more. While he quickly built a devoted fanbase for his music – evidenced by his sold-out debut North American Rain Or Shine tour in 2019 – Dom’s profile grew exponentially when he emerged as Elliot, a fan favorite in season 2 of HBO’s Euphoria. While it would have been easy for Dom to tap any number of super-producers and songwriters for his forthcoming sophomore album Sunburn, Dom decided to revisit his roots and return to his native Florida to pen a love letter to the complicated locale in which he was raised. Aided by drummer Henry Kwapis (Dijon), producers Devin Workman and Jim-E-Stack (Bon Iver, Caroline Polachek), Sunburn is comprised of 14 ruthlessly honest dispatches about heartbreak and regret, addiction, sex, and jealousy. It’s the sound of someone who returned home to discover himself once more, who found the right words in small rooms – conjuring timeless spells to close this last chapter of his life and open the door to an even more searingly bright future. The album is perhaps best represented by its title track “Sunburn,” a mission statement about life in South Florida: being too broke for higher education, the tears of a mother terrified about losing it all, and the resolve of the narrator to never let that happen. The refrain says, “When I die, lay me in the sun.”

About Sony Music Entertainment

At Sony Music Entertainment, we honor the creative journey. Our creators shape movements, culture, communities, and even history. And we’ve played a pioneering role in music history, from establishing the first-ever music label to inventing the flat disc record. We’ve nurtured some of music’s most iconic artists and produced some of the most influential recordings ever. Today, we work in more than 100 countries, supporting a diverse and distinctive roster of talented creators at every level and on every stage. Situated at the intersection of music, entertainment, and technology, we bring imagination and expertise to emerging products and platforms, embrace new business models, and employ breakthrough tools—all to support the creative community’s experimentation, risk-taking, and growth. And we form deep, trusted, cause-based partnerships to uplift and empower communities worldwide. Sony Music Entertainment is part of the global Sony family. Learn more about our creators and labels here.

#DominicFike #Sunburn